Community and Culture Committee


Tuesday, 14 April 2020



Online Meeting










Council Members

Councillor Kathryn Landsberry (Chair), The Mayor, Councillor Kevin Greene (ex-officio member), Councillor Sandy Grekas, Councillor Lou Konjarski, Councillor Leesha Payor, Councillor Warren Tegg and Councillor Christina Wu.


Council Non-Members

Councillor Con Hindi and Councillor Rita Kastanias.



Council Staff

Director Community and Culture – Ms Rebekah Schulz, Director City Strategy and Innovation – Ms Sue Weatherley, Acting Manager Library Services – Ms Melinda McNaughton, Manager, Office of the General Manager – Ms Roxanne Thornton, Executive Services Officer – Ms Marina Cavar, Research and Project Officer – Ms Ann-Marie Svorinic and Executive Assistant to the Director Community and Culture – Ms Franzi Mintus.



The Chair, Councillor Landsberry, opened the meeting at 6.17pm.


Acknowledgement of Country

Councillor Landsberry acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land, the Biddegal people of the Eora Nation.


Apologies/Leave of Absence 

There were no apologies or requests for leave of absence.


Notice of Webcasting

The Chairperson, Councillor Landsberry, advised staff and the public that the meeting is being recorded for minute-taking purposes and is also webcast live on Council’s website, in accordance with Section 4 of Council’s Code of Meeting Practice. This recording will be made available on  Council’s website.


Disclosures of Interest

There were no disclosures of interest made.


Public Forum

There were no registered speakers.



Confirmation of Minutes of previous meeting

Community and Culture STANDING COMMITTEE - 09 March 2020

RECOMMENDATION: Councillor Grekas and Councillor Tegg

That the Minutes of the Community and Culture Standing Committee held on 09 March 2020 be confirmed.


Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous



COM015-20       Renaming of the Kogarah Library and Service Centre

(Report by Coordinator, Library Operations)

RECOMMENDATION: Councillor Tegg and Councillor Grekas

That Council approve the renaming of the Kogarah Library and Service Centre to the Clive James Library and Service Centre.


Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous


COM016-20       River Rail Advocacy Report

(Report by Coordinator, Strategy and Innovation)

RECOMMENDATION: Councillor Konjarski and Councillor Tegg

(a)     That Council endorse the River Rail Report (attached to this report) as a key document to help shape the future of Georges River.

(b)     That Council delegate authority to the General Manager to make further updates to the report as required. 


Record of Voting:

For the Motion: Unanimous



The Meeting was closed at 6.39pm.