Community Development and Services Advisory  



Wednesday, 01 November 2017


Council Members

Councillor Nick Katris (Chair)

Councillor Christina Wu

Council Staff

Director Community and Culture, Mr David Tuxford

Manager Community and Cultural Development, Mr Scott Andrew

Coordinator Community Development, Mr Nicolas Best

Administrative Officer, Ms Alison Taplin (minutes)



Councillor Nick Katris opened the meeting at 4:04pm

Acknowledgement of Country

Councillor Katris acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land, the Biddegal people.


There were no apologies.

Disclosure of Interest

There were no disclosures of interest made.

Community and Culture

COM029-17       Committee Terms of Reference and composition of community representatives

(Report by Manager Community & Cultural Development)


(a) That the Community Development and Services Advisory Committee Terms of Reference be received and noted;

(b) That the Terms of Reference be updated to include one designated community representative from each of the Health, Education and NGO sectors, plus a representative from Council’s Youth Advisory Committee; and that the following people from the respective sectors will be approached and invited to participate in the Community Development Services Advisory Committee as community representatives:


·           Ms Amanda Justice – Community Partnerships Manager, South Eastern Sydney Local Health District (SESLHD)



·           Ms Joanne Jarvis – Acting Georges River Colleges Director and GRC Principal


·           Ms Rosemary Bishop – CEO, 3Bridges Community


·           Senior Constable Raymond Kerridge – St George Local Area Command


(c)  That the Committee endorse the composition of interim community representatives appointed for a term of nine (9) months;

(d) That an Expression of Interest be advertised in June 2018 for nominations for community representatives on the Committee to commence in September 2018.




The Meeting was closed at 4.57pm.